I’m working on my first steeked project. It’s a coffee cup cozy, and I’m only making it to figure out how to steek without a sewing machine (or steek at all, for that matter; someone please tell me why I’m designing a pattern using techniques I don’t know how to do? I may be being a leeeetle bit overambitious here). I’ve already informed my husband that I expect chocolate and handholding when I go to cut it tomorrow – he knows I’m anxious about cutting my knitting.

I know I won’t use a coffee cup cozy. He won’t use it. Mom won’t use it. Dad won’t use it. So I’m trying to figure out what to do with it once it’s done, and DH says “Aren’t you being a bit presumptuous? Shouldn’t you make sure that it doesn’t, like, unravel and fall apart completely before you decide who to give it to?”

I didn’t even have to give him The Look; he figured out what he’d said half a second later and said “Wait, that’s not what I’m supposed to be saying here, is it.”

At least he gets it eventually?

In other news, I have a pattern! It’s being test knit! It’s not the mermaid gloves!

The lace edging was too busy with the body, so I put the edging on a solid stockinette body … and here are Seaweed Lace Mitts, which will be available on Ravelry by the end of the month.

